Jean Moulin University Law School

Site des quaisOur law school offers a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees (in accordance with the Licence-Master-Doctorat system) to about 8,000 students who are considering a legal career. The diversity of the course offerings gives them the opportunity to acquire a high-quality legal training.

Jean Moulin University Law school: a school fraught with history

The Lyon law school, which is now a part of the Jean Moulin University-Lyon 3, was created by decree issued on October, 29, 1875, by Marechal Mac Mahon. The university palace, located at 15 quai Claude Bernard, on the banks of the Rhône, which still houses the university's head office, was  inaugurated by French President Felix Faure on May, 1, 1896.

A school within the city

The school has two campuses: the main campus, at the heart of Lyon (15, quai Claude Bernard), contains the Master's classes and the Research Centres, while the Licence classes have been held at the new campus called the Manufacture des Tabacs (an ancient Tobacco Manufactory located at 6 cours Albert Thomas, to the east of the city centre) since September, 1993.
In addition, the Law school operates a satellite campus in Bourg-en-Bresse (located at 2, rue du 23e R.I. - 01000 Bourg-en-Bresse, in the city centre).

L'Ecole de Notariat, which is linked to the Jean Moulin university by a convention, is located at the rue Chevreul. The Ecole de Notariat falls within the jurisdiction of the courts of appeal of Chambéry, Grenoble and Lyon, and prepares students for licence and for notaire degrees.

A technologically advanced Law school

Since 2000, the Law school has put an online instructional platform at the disposal of its students. The Faculté de Droit Virtuelle (F.D.V.) is the digital law campus reporting the highest number of students enrolled in France. It contains a vast number of resources, and offers an online tutoring program.
The Law school is one of the founding members of l'Université Numérique Juridique Francophone.
logo FDV
Dean of the Law School
Monsieur Franck MARMOZ

Academic Director of the Licence Programs
Madame Blandine ROLLAND

Director of the International Programs for the Law School
Madame Béatrice KAN-BALIVET

Director in charge of Job Market Integration
Monsieur Gérard VACHET

Administrative Director
Monsieur Hervé SOGNO

Contacts for undergraduate and postgraduate programs

University Lyon III - Law School

6 cours Albert Thomas
BP 8242
69355 Lyon Cedex 08

Last updated: April 16, 2015